DOJ formed a task force against rogue policemen

photo file (ctto)

Manila, Philippines – The Department of Justice (DoJ) has announced its move to create a task force that will handle criminal cases of rogue policemen.

The said task force will handle all criminal charges filed by Philippine National Police- Counter Intelligence Task Force (PNP-CITF) against PNP members reported to be involved in illegal activities.

Justice Secretary Vitaliano Aguirre II has issued Department Order (DO) No. 697 dated October 25 but only released to media last weekend. 

The order is to create the task force upon the request of the PNP. It will be consisted of 14 prosecutors, who will conduct preliminary investigation on the filed cases.

“In the interest of the service, pursuant to the provisions of existing laws and upon the request of the Philippine National Police, a task force is hereby created to handle the preliminary investigation of cases filed by the PNP-Counter Intelligence Task Force (PNP-CITF) against rogue PNP personnel,” reads the Department Order.

“This order takes effect immediately and shall remain in force until further orders,” Aguirre explained.

The panel will be chaired by Senior Deputy State Prosecutor Severino Gana Jr. of the National Prosecution Service (NPS).

 Other task force members are; Senior Assistant State Prosecutors Pedro Navera, Susan Azarcon, Edwin Dayog, Susan Villanueva, Ma. Emilia Victorio, and Hazel Decena Valdez; Assistant State Prosecutors Aristotle Reyes, Consuelo Corazon Pazzuigan, and Chulo Palencia Jr.; and Associate Prosecution Attorneys Borgy Calugay, Joan Carla Garcia, Loverhette Jeffrey Villordon, and Jonathan Paul Dimaano.

Early this year, PNP Chief Director General Ronald ‘Bato’ Dela Rosa who formed the CITF that among the 185,000 uniformed personnel, two percent or roughly around 4, 000 are believed to be engaged in illegal activities.

Post a Comment